The Girl Who Heard Dragons

The Girl Who Heard Dragons The Girl Who Heard Dragons is a 1994 collection of short fantasy and science fiction by Anne McCaffrey. It opens with an essay on her celebrity, or lack thereof, and includes 23 drawings by the cover artist Michael Whelan?.

The title novella and cover story alone belongs to the Dragonriders of Pern series?. It had previously been published as a fine book by Cheap Street and would later be included in the all-Pern collection A Gift of Dragons. Twelve of the fifteen stories were previously published in various magazines or anthologies; two were original to the collection.


"So You're Anne McCaffrey", (original non-fiction essay)
"The Girl Who Heard Dragons" (1986, Cheap Street), Dragonriders of Pern series?
"Velvet Fields", published in Worlds of If, Nov/Dec 1973
"Euterpe on a Fling" (original to the collection)
"Duty Calls" (1988)
"A Sleeping Humpty Dumpty Beauty" (1990)
"The Mandalay Cure" (1990)
"A Flock of Geese" (1985)
"The Greatest Love" (1977) — written in 1956
"A Quiet One" (1991)
"If Madam Likes You..." (1989)
"Zulei, Grace, Nimshi and the Damnyankees" (1992)
"Cinderella Switch" (1981)
"Habit Is an Old Horse" (1979)
"Lady-in-Waiting" (1978)
"The Bones Do Lie" (original to the collection)