John F. Carr

John F. Carr John Francis Carr, was born December 25, 1944 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and raised in San Diego, California. He is a science fiction editor and writer.

John F. Carr is the author of eight published novels and, along with co-editor Jerry Pournelle, he has edited over twenty theme anthologies and short story collections. Carr is the recognized authority on the life and works of H. Beam Piper? and his biography of H. Beam Piper: A Biography?, was published in 2008.

He also edited and wrote the introductions to all five Ace Books H. Beam Piper short story collections, "Federation," "Empire," "Paratime," "The Worlds of H. Beam Piper" and "The Complete Paratime."

St. Bonaventure University has become the home of the John F. Carr Collection at the Friedsam Memorial Library Archives. This Archive contains published and well as unpublished works and materials relating to his career.

His works include the space opera The Ophidian Conspiracy? and several novels (some co-written with Roland J. Green) set in the Paratime universe of H. Beam Piper). He is also recognized as an editor, having edited numerous collections or series involving Libertarian science fiction and Military science fiction. He is best known for working with Jerry Pournelle. In 2002, Carr and Pournelle were honored with a Prometheus Award for editing The Survival of Freedom.

Books in the CoDominium Universe


There Will be War: Warrior, (with Jerry Pournelle, 1986, anth)

The War World Setting

War World Anthologies

I: The Burning Eye (with Jerry Pournelle & Roland Green, 1988)
II: Death's Head Rebellion (with Jerry Pournelle & Roland Green, 1990)
III: Sauron Dominion (with Jerry Pournelle, 1991)
IV: Invasion (with Jerry Pournelle, 1991)
CoDominium: Revolt on War World (with Jerry Pournelle, 1992)
War World: Discovery (ed. John F. Carr, 2010)
War World: Takeover (ed. John F. Carr, 2011)

War World, Novels

War World: The Battle of Sauron (with Don Hawthorne, 2007)

Books in and about the Terro-Human Universe

The Last Space Viking (with Mike Robertson?)
Space Viking's Throne (2012)


Letter (Locus #216) (1978)
Introduction (Empire) (1981)
Introduction (Paratime) (1981)
Introduction (Federation) (1981)
Introduction (The Worlds of H. Beam Piper) (1983)
Introduction to Uller Uprising (1983)
Letter (Locus #312) (1987)
State of the Art: The Last Cavalier: H. Beam Piper (1988)

Essay series

Terro-Human Future History Chronology (1981)

Other Books

H. Beam Piper: A Biography, 2008